top of page
  • Writer's pictureNu Chapter

A New Nu's Perspective: Rob Gulick

Hello! My name is Rob Gulick, and I am a Freshman Engineer that plays the tenor saxophone in Marching Band and Campus Band. More immediately, I am one of Nu’s brothers! I joined the Nu chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi this past Fall 2017 in the midst of diving right into the world of college life. Through the chaos of figuring out how to survive calculus and what time I could still get into my dining hall for a late snack, what drew me to join Kappa Kappa Psi was the sense of professional skill and connectedness the fraternity brothers shared together. Making friends in Marching Band was a no-brainer for me, but working with and getting to know my peers further as a brother was an exciting prospect that would prove to deepen the bonds of friendship I was already growing with them. This bonding started first with my fellow new Nus along the Membership Educational Candidate process (MEC process). Throughout the curriculum we met together and learned more about the history and purposes of the chapter and grew to understand what lay at the core of all our shared beliefs about band and brotherhood. It was a fun collective experience throughout, and it showed me just how much we all had in common when you looked at one another under the surface.


Among the new (and Nu) educational experiences of freshman year, it’s been amazing to discover all the things that the fraternity puts together for our community. The business and committee meetings have opened up the revolving door of the various fraternity events and projects, showcasing to me all that Nu does to make the Michigan Band program the powerhouse it is. Seeing everything from the youth outreach to elementary school-age kids at our Instrument ‘Petting Zoos’ - and their joyous reaction to having an instrument in their hands for the first time - to meeting with campus leaders to talk about and brainstorm what makes a great leader and how we can work to put such practice into our own lives, has been truly amazing.


Most importantly, though I may be new (and Nu!!!) here, I already feel like my experience with Kappa Kappa Psi has made an impact on me, on my peers, and on my community.



Rob Gulick


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page